Home Global Politics Maharashtra MLC Polls 2022: Stakes excessive for MVA as BJP eyes re-speed of RS poll triumph

Maharashtra MLC Polls 2022: Stakes excessive for MVA as BJP eyes re-speed of RS poll triumph

by Good News

On the unusual time’s Maharashtra Legislative Council (MLC) election is space to gaze another contest between the BJP and Maha Vikas Aghadi (MVA) after the sizzling face-off within the Rajya Sabha elections.

A total of 11 candidates are contesting for 10 Maharashtra Legislative Council seats, with the MVA allies – Shiv Sena, NCP, and Congress – fielding two candidates every, whereas the BJP nominating five.

While nine candidates are assured of a victory given their recent strength within the assert assembly, an instantaneous battle will be witnessed between Congress’s Mumbai President Bhai Jagtap and BJP’s Prasad Lad for the 10th seat.

The BJP has 106 MLAs within the 288-member Maharashtra Home, Shiv Sena-55, Congress-44, and NCP-52. Smaller parties and Independents legend for 25 MLAs and can beget to restful thus, build the fate of the bigger parties. The quota for first preference votes per candidate to build the MLC polls is 26.

The BJP, which is waiting for a re-speed of the Rajya Sabha feat, exuded self belief in bagging all five seats within the MLC polls.

Claiming instability within the ruling MVA, BJP’s Pravin Darekar said, “We’re assured of our victory. MVA leaders beget not performed nicely in these two and a half of years. There is miscommunication within the alliance. Whereas our management is terribly robust and succesful. We are in a position to build the total 5 seats.”

BJP candidate Prasad Lad also said he became as soon as 100% sure of his victory. Meanwhile, Congress, though low on numbers, has also expressed self belief in winning both seats within the MLC elections. 

Hitting out at his saffron opponents, Maharashtra Congress President Nana Patole said, “All six candidates of MVA will build with a full majority. BJP is grasping. It is a long way misusing companies to house MLAs. BJP will lose attributable to their overconfidence and greed.”

Given its strength within the Assembly, the BJP can accept four of the five candidates elected, the Sena and the NCP two every, and the Congress one. Both the BJP and Congress are banking on strengthen from unprejudiced candidates to procure the 10th seat. 

Maharashtra MLC polls

Elections to the Maharashtra Legislative Council were necessitated attributable to the retirement of 9 members – NCP’s Ramraje Naik Nimbalkar and Sanjay Daund; BJP’s Pravin Darekar, Sujitsinh Thakur, and Prasad Lad; Shiv Sena’s Subhash Desai Diwakar Raote, Vinayak Mete, and Sadabhau Khot; and the loss of life of BJP MLA RN Singh.

While BJP has renominated Darekar and Lad, NCP has reposed religion in Nimbalkar who’s the outgoing Legislative Council chairman. The original candidates encompass BJP’s Ram Shinde, Uma Khapre, and Shrikant Bharatiya; Shiv Sena’s Sachin Ahir and Amshya Padvi; NCP’s Eknath Khadse; Congress’ Bhai Jagtap and outmoded minister Chandrakant Handore.

In the June 10 Rajya Sabha polls for six seats from Maharashtra, the BJP led by Devendra Fadnavis clinched all three seats regardless of having fewer numbers than required. In a setback to the MVA, BJP’s third candidate Dhananjay Mahadik defeated Sena’s 2nd nominee Sanjay Pawar.

(With inputs from agency)

Related Articles