Home Life Style What to grab about Buhari’s ministers resigning to contest elections

What to grab about Buhari’s ministers resigning to contest elections

by Good News

On Friday, the Buhari administration organised a valedictory session for 10 of its ministers who’re quitting their positions to pursue their political ambition.

Three of the ministers beget already tendered their resignation letters.

Americans who the session changed into organised for are the Ministers of Transportation, Rotimi Amaechi; Niger Delta Affairs, Godswill Akpabio; Science, Technology and Innovation, Ogbonnaya Onu; Minister of Dispute for Petroleum Resources, Timipre Sylva; and the Minister of Dispute for Training, Chukwuemeka Nwajiuba. They are all working for president.

Others are the Attorney-In fashion and Minister of Justice, Abubakar Malami (SAN); Minister of Dispute, Mines and Steel Style, Uche Ogah; Minister of Girls folk Affairs, Pauline Tallen; the Minister of Dispute for Niger Delta Affairs, Tayo Alasoadura.

Although, he attended the valedictory session, the Minister of Labour and Employment, Chris Ngige, later withdrew from the presidential scramble.

President Muhammadu Buhari had on Thursday, issued a directive to all appointees wanting for nomination forward of the APC primaries to resign on or forward of Might possibly possibly 16.

The directive followed the choice of the Court of Enchantment to brush aside a suit that challenged piece 84(12) of the Electoral Act, which prohibits appointees from taking part in a convention as a delegate or nominee

Under are the ministers who’re leaving the Buhari’s cupboard to pursue their political ambitions:

Rotimi Amaechi
Mr Amaechi is the outgoing Minister of Transportation.

He is asking for the tag of his birthday party to was its presidential flag-bearer within the 2023 election.

He is a worn Speaker of Rivers Dispute Dwelling of Assembly and worn Chairman of the Nigerian Governors Dialogue board (NGF).

He changed into governor of Rivers Dispute on the tag of the PDP. But at some point soon of his 2d time duration, he dumped the birthday party for the APC. That changed into in September 2013.

He changed into the Director-In fashion of the Buhari Campaign Organisation.

Mr Amaechi changed into appointed minister by Mr Buhari in 2015 and reappointed in 2019

Godswill Akpabio
Mr Akpabio is additionally from the South-south geopolitical zone, the identical zone as Mr Amaechi.

He served two phrases because the governor of oil-rich Akwa-Ibom Dispute from 2007 to 2015 on the platform of the PDP.

Luxuriate in another governors in Nigeria, he retired to the Senate in 2015 and emerged as Minority Chief within the 8th Assembly. In that identical Assembly, he decamped to the ruling birthday party, APC.

He changed into appointed minister in 2019 after that yr’s election.

Timipre Sylva
Mr Sylva is the outgoing Minister of Dispute for Petroleum Resources.

He changed into governor of Bayelsa Dispute on PDP platform between 2007 and 2011. His are trying to fetch a 2d time duration failed.

The worn governor is but to formally present to contest. Nonetheless, a toughen community already presented him with the N100 million expression of curiosity and nomination forms.

He told the community that he’ll present after due consultations.

Tayo Alasoasura
Mr Alasoadura is asking for to contest for Ondo Central Senatorial district.


The worn Commissioner for Finance in Ondo Dispute changed into elected into the upper chamber in 2015.

In 2019, he changed into defeated by Ayo Akinyelure. After his defeat at the ballot, he changed into appointed as minister of convey for Niger Delta Affairs by Mr Buhari.

Pauline Tallen
Mrs Tallen is the ladies folk Affairs minister.

The worn Deputy Governor of Plateau Dispute changed into appointed Minister in 2019 by Mr Buhari, making that her 2d stint as a cabinet minister. In 1999, ex-president Olusegun Obasanjo appointed her as Minister of Science and Technology.

She’s going to likely be working against the Plateau Dispute govenor, Simon Lalong, for the Plateau South Senatorial District seat.

Uche Ogah
The Minister of Dispute for Mines and Steel is working for Abia Dispute governorship.

In 2015, he misplaced the PDP govenorship main election to Okezie Ikpeazu. Again, in 2019, Mr Ogah misplaced the principle election to Mr Ikpeazu.

Abubakar Malami
Mr Malami is the outgoing Attorney In fashion of the Federation and Minister of Justice.

He is contesting for the governorship seat of Kebbi Dispute.

Mr Malami took a shot at the set of dwelling in 2014, nonetheless misplaced to Governor Atiku Bagudu.

He changed into the ethical adviser of the defunct Congress for Innovative Replace (CPC) founded by Mr Buhari and his political pals. CPC changed into one in every of the events that merged into APC.

Ogbonnaya Onu
Mr Onu, who hails from Ebonyi Dispute, is the outgoing Minister for Science, Technology and Innovation.

He changed into governor of Ragged Abia Dispute between 1991 and 1992 below the defunct Nationwide Republican Convention.

Within the beginning of the Fourth Republic in 1999, he joined the defunct All Nigeria Peoples Celebration (APP) which later changed into the All Nigeria Peoples Celebration (ANPP). As its national chairman, Mr Onu led the birthday party to the merger talks that ended in the birth of APC in 2013.

He changed into appointed minister by Mr Buhari in 2015 and reappointed in 2019.

Chukwuemeka Nwajiuba
Mr Nwajiuba, from Imo Dispute, is the outgoing Minister of Dispute for Training. He is working for president.

Mr Nwajiuba changed into a member of the Dwelling of Representatives from 1999 to 2003 below the defunct All Peoples Celebration (APP) and changed into re-elected into the Dwelling in 2019 below the platform of Accord Celebration forward of he changed into appointed minister by President Muhammadu Buhari.

He changed into a member of the Dwelling after the pronouncement by the FCT High Court Kubwa, which sacked Chike Okafor, Ehime Mbano/Ihitte Uboma/Obowo Federal Constituency of Imo Dispute, and pronounced Mr Nwajuiba because the winner of the election.

Nonetheless, the choice of the FCT High court changed into subsequently upturned by the Enchantment Court and one map or the other the Supreme Court. Nonetheless, by then, Mr Nwajuiba changed into already a cabinet minister.

At some stage in his stint within the Ninth Dwelling, he made a narrate for the Speakership set of dwelling nonetheless stepped down for the eventual winner, Femi Gbajabiamila

Make stronger PREMIUM TIMES’ journalism of integrity and credibility

Moral journalism costs moderately tons of cash. But most absorbing honest journalism can set certain the attainable for a honest society, an responsible democracy, and a clear authorities.

For continued free entry to the appropriate investigative journalism within the nation we quiz you to set in mind making a modest toughen to this noble endeavour.

By contributing to PREMIUM TIMES, that you can possibly possibly possibly be helping to withhold a journalism of relevance and guaranteeing it stays free and on hand to all.

TEXT AD: To set of dwelling an advert right here . Call Willie – +2348098788999

Related Articles